Unorthodoxplaid's Weblog

Does it ever make you wonder

Cake Balls 2010-2011

I did not really start my blogging adventure until January 2011 so I have to share with you what I made over the holidays.

Look at those babies. My second attempt at cake balls. I originally made the cake using this recipe but I do not have cake flour. Cake flour is way too expensive. Especially since I now have a huge COSTCO sized bag of flour! So here is the conversion: 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons of all purpose = 1 cup of cake flour!
So in order to actually make cake balls you need to make a cake first. Once the cake is cool you can crumble it apart *gasp* and combine it with a frosting mix of your choice. A lot of people use cream cheese frosting so I shall provide a recipe for you.
  • Butter
  • Confectionery Sugar
  • Cream Cheese
  • Vanilla
I did not give measurements because some people like it tangy and some people like it sweet. So make it according to your liking.
Melt the chocolate (or chocolate candy wafers) dip and drain. Decorate however you like and ta-da! You have just created your own cake balls!
In the ones pictured above I added oreo cookies to the mix. Tasty.

3 responses to “Cake Balls 2010-2011

  1. William Rose May 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I love cooking, collecting all the recipe ideas I can, thanks for this!

  2. Tony Narwa May 28, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Great looking recipe. Can’t wait to try it out. Thanks.

  3. UnorthodoxPlaid May 28, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Thanks! Sorry it is so well strange.

    Actually I changed the recipe a bit. Butter, crisco (half the amount against however much butter you use), cream cheese, vanilla, salt, and powdered sugar.

Leave a comment